What Will You Pass Down?

Posted: December 31, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,
Christmas – It is one of my favorite holidays. I love the excitement surrounding Christmas. The music, the chill in the air, and the smile on children’s faces, are all great reminders of the joy many experience at Christmas.

One of my favorite things about Christmas (besides the cookies) is the wonderful traditions handed down from my family. I recall all the family and extended family in our living room celebrating with cookies, punch, singing silly songs, and playing Christmas games. Christmas Eve was always our night to have a big family celebration. We have a talent/no talent time before we exchange gifts. Each person or family group will perform in some way. Some sing, others do a skit, someone may tell a joke, we all laugh and have a good time. I look forward to passing on some of these traditions to my children. My parents always went out of their way to make Christmas a special time. I want to do the same for my children. We have started our own family traditions and will probably add more along the way as our family grows.

While I enjoy and cherish these special memories and traditions my parents have passed down to me; there is one area of life my parents passed down that I cherish above all others. They passed their faith in Jesus down to me. As a child, I recall my mom and dad praying with me and talking about God to me. They taught me songs about Jesus and sent me to Bible class. Their example of living a Christian life became a solid foundation for me to build my life upon. While my faith in Jesus is now genuinely mine, it is the example of my parents that caused me to seek after God. I am truly thankful for their guidance and example of how to live a godly life.

As 2009 comes to an end and a new year quickly approaches, I pray that we be active in sharing our faith. If you are a parent or grandparent, let the children see you living a life that is totally dependent on Jesus Christ. If you are an older brother or sister, find ways to show your younger sibling the way to act and live in the body of Christ. Whatever your situation in life, look for ways to share your faith in Jesus and to grow in your own faith. And if you are able to do so, call the people in your life that shared their faith with you and thank them. And whatever you do in the coming year, make a commitment to grow closer to your Heavenly Father.

Leave a Reply

